WJMC Day 1: Getting Settled

As I walked towards my room, I anticipated the awkward “hellos” and “where are you from” small talk chatter. I was pleasantly surprised to find out that my dorm mates are anything but meek. There were some initial slip-ups with the keys, and though we did get ourselves locked out multiple times, we managed to make it to dinner all in one piece, looking as professional as possible.

I then joined my fellow maroon group or the “Maroon Typhoons” as we call ourselves (the name is still a work in progress). Anyways, upon first meeting each other in the small room assigned to us, it was quite awkward and the chit-chat was kept to a minimum. Yet by the time we got through the dinner together and discussed the speaker in our small room, everyone’s true personalities truly shined and we ended up having a great time as we all walked back to our rooms as a sound unit.

  1. I can honestly say that this group of 200 students are so kind and eager to make friendships and connect with each other. I, a shy person was able to make friends within a matter of minutes, and my experience is just getting better and better as time goes on. S
Leave a Reply

